November 5, 2005

Bxy Showcases Burnt DVDs – Extension of Podcasting Session

Posted in CBC 2005 - Day 1 at 8:04 am by Angelo Embuldeniya

As the podcasting session draws to an end, Bxy brings out a whole bunch of DVDs burnt with podcast programs, (not “pirated” cds as wrongly blogged before due to a translation error). These DVDs are a backup of the podcasts he downloaded. Bxy is talking about how they are all a kind of podcast. But there’s no central authority through which you’ll get your media content any more.

 

 

Session is now over and they’re getting ready to go to next session but Bxy insists upon speaking more and he points out that if you buy a blank dvd/cd in the west, you pay tax but not sure if some of it goes to the copyright holders.

(particpants/speakers gather around to check out what exactly Bxy is up to :-D)

 

[In the IRC room I (Angelo) popped the question of what exactly the showcasing meant – what it signified, to which Nick replied that it was regarding the tax part: When you buy a blank cd/dvd in europe for example, they think you actually buy it to copy music, or videos. So the music and video-industry get s a share of this tax as compensation]

 

(More interested people huddling round Bxy and his box of burnt DVDs :-))

 

A note from BXY: “I showcased that to say: 1) maybe you don’t have to play with the mainstream media, you got enough stuff to listen to 2) in europe, the consumer has to pay a fee when buys a blank dvd to compensate the big pulishers. Because the so-called “content industry” thinks we gonna use the blank DVD to pirate their stuff. Well, no! I used to back up my podcast programs, about 40 dvds, right now. They have nothing to do with those big publishers. I don’t want to pay that fee. Though in China currently you don’t have to pay that. But I wonder! “

 

 

Tagged: cnbloggercon, 中文网志年会, CBC2005 

5 Comments »

  1. bxy said,

    I was showing DVD burnt with podcast programs, not “pirated” cd. those were backup of the podcast I downloaded.

    Please correct the artilce.

    It’s misleading!

    I showcased that to say: 1) maybe you don’t have to play with the mainstream media, you got enough stuff to listen to 2) in europe, the consumer has to pay a fee when buys a blank dvd to compensate the big pulishers. Because the so-called “content industry” thinks we gonna use the blank DVD to pirate their stuff. Well, no! I used to back up my podcast programs, about 40 dvds, right now. They have nothing to do with those big publishers. I don’t want to pay that fee. Though in China currently you don’t have to pay that. But I wonder!

  2. bxy said,

    Thank you, buddy, for taking my words and changed the entry so promptly. I just replied again in your blogspot blog on the issue.

    Really don’t want to give English-speaking country a wrong idea what we were doing.

    This is so fun, man! This thing aint happening in the mainstream media. With that game, you got misquoted, it stayed there.

    Give my serious respect to you, my fellow blogger, Angelo!

  3. bxy said,

    > Session is now over and they’re
    > getting ready to go to next session
    > but Bxy insists upon speaking more
    > and he points out that if you buy a
    > blank cd in the west, you pay tax
    > but not sure if some of it goes to
    > the copyright holders.

    I said the tax goes to the copyright holders, the big publishers, but not necesasrily the artists. But the publishers always confuses us with compensation to the artists and the copyright holders(namely, publishers themselves).

    My point is 1) Most of the blank DVD
    I bought is for data backup, my
    email, my audio diary, photos I
    took, podcast. Also, data from
    legal-torrent, etree.org! Check them
    out! These things have nothing to do with
    “pirating”. Though I admit one or
    two are used for backup unauthorized
    copy of music and books, some guitar
    tabs too. 2) I ask if the blank DVD
    sales up 100%, therefore more blank
    dvd tax goes to the publishers, I
    seriously doubt the artists will get
    more money.

  4. […] 15:10-16:10 Seminar Discussion III: “Podcasting” Moderator: Hopesome (plus Extension of Podcasting Session by Bxy) […]

  5. Lester said,

    This is a message to the admin. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://voxseo.com/traffic/ They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.


Leave a Reply

